New European Bauhaus Prize 2023: Submissions are open

The European Union is organising the New European Bauhaus Prize for the third time. The prizes aim at highlighting spectacular projects and innovative ideas that embody aesthetics, sustainability, and inclusivity. The Bauhaus Prizes especially support young professionals and are divided into four different categories:

  • Reconnecting with nature
  • Regaining a sense of belonging
  • Prioritising the places that need it the most
  • Shaping a circular industrial ecosystem and supporting lifecycle thinking

For each of the four categories, three parallel competitions are taking place:

  • New European Bauhaus Champions: For completed projects and their results
  • New European Bauhaus Rising Stars: For ideas and concepts by young talents under 30. The concepts do not have to be realised in order to be considered for this prize
  • New European Bauhaus Education Champions: For projects and initiatives focussed on education and learning

The winners of the categories within their competition each receives EUR 30.000 (or EUR 14.000 for Rising Stars) as well as a communication package from the European Commission which will help with the promotion of the project.

The submission deadline is on 31 January at 19:00 CET, 2023.

This year for the first time, the Western Balkan States may apply in addition to the EU Member States.

The prizes platform can be accessed here.


Please note: the European Commission is also looking for experts to evaluate the submissions. The deadline is end of December 2022. Experts ought to be able to assess the applications from the three angles of sustainability, aesthetics and quality of experience as well as inclusiveness.

The Commission also seeks for experts who are able to assess projects from the viewpoint of education.

For further details for assessors please see the Call for expression of interest for external experts and contract template. You can apply here.